Tofu Hummus

Hummus with Tofu for Blog

Eating Healthy Over 80% of the Time

I had some tofu in my refrigerator and was anxious to make something delicious with it. I logged onto allrecipes.com,  browsing under appetizers made with tofu. I had all the ingredients on hand so I whipped up a batch of Tummus ( A name my husband made up for adding Tahini or Tofu in the Hummus) using my  nutribullet.  Five years ago, I started my journey into nutrition. I didn’t do it all at once, mainly because I didn’t understand what it meant to eat right so as to allow foods to give back to may body to keep me healty. Today, I can say I eat a nutritional diet over 80% of the time. Smile

I made one minor change and substituted the peanut butter for almond butter.

Tofu: Naturally gluten-free and low calorie, and an excellent source of protein, iron and calcium.                                                        email photo

  • /2 cup diced silken tofu

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice

  • 2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter ( I use almond butter)

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

  • 3 cloves garlic

  • 1 (19 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained (I  buy chickpeas and boil 1-2 cups  in purified water for 2-3 minutes then drain and put fresh purified water and boil for approximately 20 minutes. Make sure they’re not mushy. Pop the skins off (this takes time.) I use the water I boiled them in by adding a little to the chickpeas before blending along with the remaining ingredients. Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tofu Hummus

  1. Lori

    I can’t wait to make some. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment